The United States of America and two other countries, have warned their citizens not to travel to some states in Nigeria.

This is in view of the planned closure of the Abuja Airport, which will see flights diverted to the Kaduna Airport from March 8.

Department of State of the United States on its website,, advised Americans against traveling to Adamawa, Bauchi, Borno, Gombe, Kano, and Yobe states “because the security situation in the North remains fluid and unpredictable.”

Relatively, the United Kingdom’s Foreign and Commonwealth Office on, also warned its citizens not to travel to Borno, Yobe, Adamawa and Gombe states.

Also, Canadians have been warned by their government on not to travel to Borno, Adamawa, Kaduna, Bauchi and others “due to the high risk of terrorism, inter-communal violence and kidnapping.”

Only Lagos, Abuja and Calabar are listed as safe cities in Nigeria.

Australian Government has likewise issued a “Do not travel” warning to its citizens, as published on

“The alternative airport which will be used during the repairs, Kaduna airport, is located approximately 200 kilometres north of Abuja in a ‘Do not travel’ area.

“We strongly advise you to defer non-essential travel to and from Abuja during the shutdown.

“We advise you to reconsider your need to travel to Nigeria due to the high threat of terrorist attack, the high threat of kidnapping, the unpredictable security situation, the possibility of violent civil unrest and the high level of violent crime,” it said.

Author: Yemi Olarinre