Prof. Dibu Ojerinde                                                                                                                           Image:

President Muhammadu Buhari has relieved Prof. Dibu Ojerinde of his appoint as the Executive Secretary of the Joint Admission and Matriculation Board and replaced him with Prof. Ishaq Oloyede.

This was part of new appointments announced by the Federal Government in the education sector.

Prof Ishaq Oloyede

Prof. Ishaq Oloyede

The president also approved the appointment of Prof. Abubakar Rasheed as replacement for Prof. Julius Okojie, whose tenure of office lapsed on Monday.

A statement signed by Mr Bem Goong, Deputy Director, Press, Federal Ministry of Education, in Abuja listed other appointments as those of new chief executive officers of the National Examination Council (NECO) and other education parastatals and agencies.

They are Prof. Lilian Salami; Nigerian Institute for Educational Planning and Administration; Dr Hameed Bobboyi, Universal Basic Education Board and Prof. Lanre Aina, National Library of Nigeria.

Prof. Charles Uwakwe now heads NECO; Prof. Abba Haladu, National Commission for Mass Literacy, Adult And Non-Formal Education; Prof. Bashir Usman, Nomadic Education Commission; and Prof. Ifeoma Isiugo-Abanihe, National Business and Technical Examination Board.

Also appointed are Prof. Sunday Ajiboye, Teachers Registration Council of Nigeria, Afolabi Aderinto, Computer Registration Council of Nigeria; Prof. Bappah Aliyu, National Commission for Colleges of Education; and Dr. Abdullahi Baffa, Tertiary Education Tax Fund.

Prof. Garba Azare now heads the National Teachers Institute; Prof. Michael Afolabi, Library Registration Council of Nigeria, while Prof. Chinyere Ohiri-Aniche heads the National Institute of Nigerian Languages.

The statement said that the 17 new chief executives are expected at the office of the Minister of Education at noon on August. 2.

Author: Cerebral Lemon