By Frances Nene

The cabinet reshuffle that is expected to take effect Sunday in India has seen nine new members emerge in the government of Prime Minister, Narendra Modi.

The nine, slated for induction on Sunday include RK Singh (Lok Sabha MP from Arrah, Bihar), Hardeep Singh Puri (ex-diplomat), Shiv Pratap Shukla (Rajya Sabha MP from Uttar Pradesh), Satyapal Singh (Lok Sabha MP from Baghpat), Alphons Kannanthanam (ex-bureaucrat), Ashwini Kumar Choubey (Lok Sabha MP from Buxar, Bihar), Anant Kumar Dattatreya Hegde (Lok Sabha MP from Uttara Kannada), Gajendra Singh Shekhawat (Lok Sabha MP from Jodhpur), and Virendra Kumar (Lok Sabha MP from Tikamgarh, Madhya Pradesh).

Modi expanded his council of ministers twice; first on November 9 in 2014 and then on July 5 in 2016.

It is speculated that this might be Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s third and probably last major modification of his council of ministers before the next Lok Sabha polls in 2019.

President Ram Nath Kovind will administer the oath of office and secrecy to all new ministers.

Author: Cerebral Lemon