Six lawmakers in the Lagos State House of Assembly on Thursday defected from the Peoples’ Democratic Party (PDP) to the All Progressives Congress (APC), thereby leaving only two lawmakers in the opposition camp.

The lawmakers conveyed their decision to defect in a letter addressed to the Speaker, Hon. Mudashiru Obasa, and read at a plenary by the acting Clerk of the assembly, Mr. Azeez Sanni.

Before their defection, the PDP had eight out of the 40 lawmakers in the assembly, representing about 20 per cent. But with the defection of six lawmakers, only two lawmakers are left in the fold of the opposition.

The letter of defection, which the clerk presented at the plenary on Thursday, named the defected lawmakers: Hon. Mosunmola Sangodara from Surulere II, Hon. Fatai Oluwa from Ajeromi Ifelodun II, Hon. Dayo Famakinwa from Ajeromi Ifelodun I, Hon. Hakeem Sokunle from Oshodi-Isolo II, Hon. Jude Idimogwu from Oshodi-Isolo I and Hon. Akeem Bello.

The Minority Leader, Hon. Akeem Bello, spoke on behalf of the defected lawmakers, thereby justifying their decision to dump the PDP on whose platform they won the state legislative election in 2015.

He explained that the lawmakers decided to leave the PDP due to what they ascribed to the leadership crisis, which they said, had undermined its power as the country’s frontline opposition party.

The  minority leader, also, said the lawmakers decided to dump the PDP due to what they described as the outstanding performance of the state governor, Mr. Akinwunmi Ambode, whom they said, had brought creativity and dynamism to governance and public administration in the state.

After the defection of the lawmakers was announced, the speaker and other APC lawmakers in the assembly welcomed them to the fold of the progressive congress with singing and clapping.

Author: Yemi Olarinre