Five Players each from Spanish La Liga giants, FC Barcelona and Real Madrid and Bayern Munich Goalkeeper, Manuel Neuer were selected to make the 2016 FIFA Team of the Year.

The world governing body announced their stand-out ‘FIFPro World XI’ at a glittering awards ceremony in Zurich on Monday, and Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo were unsurprisingly chosen to lead the line but France Forward, Antoine Griezmann was surprisingly left out.

Not a single player currently plying his trade in England, France, Italy was deemed worthy of a place in the star-studded line-up.

The only Italian Serie A player who made the list, Juventus’ Dani Alves was selected based on last season’s performance with Barcelona.

World record signing, Manchester United’s Paul Pogba, who made the 2015 team missed out.

FIFPRO WORLD XI 2016                                

(Formation: 4-3-3)

Manuel Neuer

Dani Alves, Gerard Pique, Sergio Ramos, Marcelo

Luka Modric, Toni Kroos, Andres Iniesta

Lionel Messi, Luis Suarez, Cristiano Ronaldo


Author: Timilehin Boyinde

Oluwatimilehin Boyinde is a research writer and a social media strategist. A public affairs analyst, he writes about history, politics, sports, life matters and technology. He is passionate about happenings in Local and international political arenas. He is an avid Manchester United fan and an unapologetic Nigerian.