The qualifying draws for the 2019 African Cup of Nations were made on Thursday in Libreville, Gabon’s capital City.

The Super Eagles of Nigeria were drawn in Group E alongside South Africa, Libya and Seychelles. All four countries failed to reach the 2017 African Cup of Nations which kicks off in Gabon on Saturday.

Both South Africa and Nigeria were in the same group in the 2015 AFCON qualifiers. The Bafana Bafana finished as group leaders while Nigeria finished in third place and failed to qualify.

The Cartage Eagles of Tunisia were drawn alongside North Africa neighbour, Egypt, Niger Republic and Swaziland in Group J.

Defending Champions, Cote D’Ivoire are in Group H with Guinea, Central African Republic and Rwanda. Ghana faces Ethiopia, Sierra Leone and Kenya in Group F.

Chad Republic are banned from participating in the qualifiers as a result of their decision to pull out of the qualifiers for the 2017 AFCON. They were in the same group Nigeria.

The winners of each group will join the hosts Cameroon in the final tournament as well as the best three runners-up in all 12 Groups.

The qualifiers will kick off with the preliminary round between 20 – 28 March 2017.

MatchDay 1 of the group stage qualifiers will commence between 5 – 13 June 2017.

Full Draw

Group A – Senegal, Equatorial Guinea, Sudan, Sao Tome or Madagascar

Group B – Cameroon, Morocco, Malawi, Comoros or Mauritius

Group C – Mali, Gabon, Burundi, Djibouti or South Sudan

Group D – Algeria, Togo, Benin, Gambia

Group E – Nigeria, South Africa, Libya, Seychelles

Group F – Ghana, Ethiopia, Kenya, Sierra Leone

Group G – Democratic Republic of Congo, Congo Brazzaville, Zimbabwe, Liberia

Group H – Ivory Coast, Guinea, Central African Republic, Rwanda

Group I – Burkina Faso, Angola, Botswana, Mauritania

Group J – Tunisia, Egypt, Niger, Swaziland

Group K – Zambia, Mozambique, Guinea-Bissau, Namibia

Group L – Cape Verde, Uganda, Tanzania, Lesotho


Cameroon will compete in Group B and points awarded in their matches. If Cameroon win the group, the runners-up will qualify; if they finish runners-up, the winners will qualify; if they finish third or fourth, the winners will qualify and the runners-up will compete for one of the three additional places


Author: Timilehin Boyinde

Oluwatimilehin Boyinde is a research writer and a social media strategist. A public affairs analyst, he writes about history, politics, sports, life matters and technology. He is passionate about happenings in Local and international political arenas. He is an avid Manchester United fan and an unapologetic Nigerian.