Super Eagles In Training Session

Super Eagles In Training Session

Super Eagles’ Technical Adviser Gernot Rohr has invited 23 players to camp for next month’s 2018 FIFA World Cup Qualifying Match with Zambia’s Chipolopolo in Ndola, Zambia.

A statement by the Nigeria Football Federation (NFF) in Abuja said the coach retained belief in his first squad by inviting the bulk of those players.

Rohr had led his first squad to a 1-0 win over Tanzania in a 2017 AFCON qualifying match in Uyo on September 3.

He, however, added defender Kenneth Omeruo of Alanyaspor FC, Turkey, Belgium-based midfielder Anderson Esiti and the English Premiership duo of Isaac Success and Alex Iwobi to the 19 players from the Uyo game.

Skipper Mikel Obi, assistant skipper Ahmed Musa, goalkeeper Carl Ikeme, defender Elderson Echiejile, midfielder Ogenyi Onazi and Manchester City forward Kelechi Iheanacho are in the 23-man roster.

Rohr has excused from the squad Watford FC forward Odion Ighalo, who will attend his grandfather’s burial in Nigeria on October 8.

The Match Day 1 fixture at the Levy Nwanawasa Stadium in Ndola is slated for October 9.

Injured KAA Gent striker Moses Simon is, however, listed after assuring Rohr he had started treatment and would be fully healed well ahead of the encounter.

All invited players are expected to arrive in Abuja from October 2.

Below is the full list of the invited players as released:

Goalkeepers: Carl Ikeme (Wolverhampton Wanderers, England); Emmanuel Daniel (Rangers); Ikechukwu Ezenwa (FC IfeanyiUbah).

Defenders: Leon Balogun (FSV Mainz 05, Germany); William Paul Ekong (Haugesund FC, Norway); Kenneth Omeruo (Alanyaspor FC, Turkey); Jamiu Alimi (Kano Pillars); Abdullahi Shehu (Anorthosis Famagusta, Cyprus); Musa Muhammed (Istanbul Basaksehir, Turkey); Elderson Echiejile (Standard Liege, Belgium) and Kingsley Madu (SV Zulte Waregem, Belgium).

Midfielders: Mikel Obi (Chelsea FC, England); Ogenyi Onazi (Trabzonspor, Turkey); Wilfred Ndidi (KRC Genk, Belgium); Nosa Igiebor (Maccabi Tel Aviv, Israel); Anderson Esiti (KAA Gent, Belgium).

Forwards: Ahmed Musa (Leicester City, England); Kelechi Iheanacho (Manchester City, England); Moses Simon (KAA Gent, Belgium); Victor Moses (Chelsea FC, England); Isaac Success (Watford FC, England); Brown Ideye (Olympiacos FC, Greece); Alex Iwobi (Arsenal FC, England).

Author: Cerebral Lemon