Ms Theodora Nwankwo of Nigeria and 10 other women have been elected as experts to serve on the UN Committee on the Elimination of Discrimination Against Women.

Nwankwo, a seasoned legal practitioner, retired Magistrate and Executive Director of an NGO – Civil Resource and Documentation Centre (CIRDDOC), polled 95 out of the 180 available votes.

She along with the 10 other women will serve on the UN monitoring body for a four-year term, beginning from January. 1, 2017 to December. 31, 2019.

Others elected were Dalia Leinarte of Lithuania, Nicole Ameline of France, Wenyan Song, China; Nahla Haidar, Lebanon; Gunnar Bergby, Norway; and Bandana Rana, Nepal.

Also on the committee are Rosario Manalo, Philippines; Hilary Gbedemah, Ghana; Icha Verges, Mauritania and Marion Bethel, Bahamas.

The committee, comprising 23 independent experts who serve in their personal capacity, monitors the implementation of the UN Convention on Elimination of Discrimination Against Women (CEDAW).

Nigeria as a member of the UN, signed and ratified without any reservation, the CEDAW in 1985 and also 1991.

In this regard, Nigeria is also eligible through election to serve on the Committee in accordance with Article 17 of the Convention.

Author: Cerebral Lemon